Port 80 in use!

Today I stumbled upon a problem while trying to start the default site in IIS:

port1

So something was using port 80 already! In order to figure out what it was, I needed to use the netstat command with –ano option as follows:

port2

As you see, port 80 was in use by a process with PID 2200. In task manager, the guilty application showed up:

port3

So it was Skype! But why is it using port 80? It became clear when I looked at its properties, in my case ‘Use port 80 and 443 as alternatives for incoming connections’ was checked, so I unchecked it:

port4

After saving this it said:

port5

So I restarted Skype, and now port 80 was back available:

port6

And so I could start the default site again:

port7

Leave a Reply

