Outlook 2010 profiles

I use Outlook 2010 as an email client, in which I have configured one POP account (my Dunatis email account) and a MAPI account (my hotmail account). Recently I also added an exchange account (my account at a customer).

Unfortunately I ran into a number of issues. At the customer’s side I could not send emails using my Dunatis account and at home I could not send any mail because it was trying to connect to the exchange server – which I cannot access at home.

To solve this I had to create two different profiles:

  • Home profile: contains Dunatis and hotmail accounts
  • Business profile: contains customer account

To create profiles, go to control panel / User Accounts and Family Safety / Mail:

mail1

Click ‘Show Profiles’. Now you can add the profiles you need, and add the needed email accounts to each profile. Finally, make sure ‘Prompt for a profile to be used’ is checked:

mail2

Click OK. If you now start Outlook, you can select the correct profile and everything works as a charm Smile

Leave a Reply

